CFUW members: Liz Bossio, Judy Deon, Heather AC Anderson, (Heather’s daughter) and Stephanie Myers. Photo: Bob Hall.
On Saturday, February 1 the Canadian Federation of University Women, Nelson and District chapter (CFUW) sat down to lunch with 200 fans of higher learning at Mary Hall for the annual Selkirk College Bursary Tea to celebrate and honour the 2020 Selkirk College bursary recipients. There were over 140 individual bursaries awarded totalling over $160,000.
The afternoon included words of welcome and inspiration from Selkirk President Angus Graeme. In attendance along with numerous bursary recipients were family, friends, staff and faculty.
On behalf of the donors, Danielle Bader spoke about being a third year nursing student bursary recipient herself while she was raising four children and how much this meant to her. Since then, after nursing for almost 20 years, she and her family decided to create their own bursary to help other third year nursing students. Her words were profoundly moving.
The CFUW awarded their Selkirk bursary to Heather AC Anderson. Heather is also in the nursing program. She is in her first year of the four year program. When her youngest child started school, Heather decided it was the perfect timing for her to continue her education.
The CFUW Nelson works vigorously to support the continuing education of women and girls. They administer both this bursary and the Elizabeth Wallace Scholarship for high school students.
The Selkirk College Bursary Tea was a wonderful way for bursary recipients and donors to connect over a lovely lunch served by Selkirk’s culinary school students.
The Canadian Federation of Women Nelson and District chapter welcomes new members who are passionate about empowering women and girls through lifelong education.
– Stephanie Myers